Skip to content

The Inheritance Games by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Avery Grambs is a relative nobody when she learns that an eccentric billionaire she never knew has died and named her the largest beneficiary to his massive estate. Filled with riddles, puzzles and high-stakes twists leading to a thrilling conclusion, this one will leave you reeling long after you’ve finished.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why — or even who Tobias Hawthorne is.

To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man’s touch — and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a conwoman, and he’s determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather’s last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive.

*Avery’s story continues in The Hawthorne Legacy and The Final Gambit*

There is a total of 5 books in this series. The Inheritance Games, The Hawthorne Legacy, The Final Gambit, The Brothers Hawthorne, and The Grandest Game. 


Trigger Warnings for the book:

  • Abusive relationship (emotional/physical)
  • Alcohol abuse (implied)
  • Cheating.
  • Death of loved one/family member (including parental/grandparental)
  • Gun violence.
  • Manipulation.
  • Murder/attempted murder.
  • Underage drinking.


Leave a Comment